The Association held its annual general meeting on 21 May 2021, virtually. The President, Mr Desmond Tan, called the meeting to order shortly after 11 am when we met the quorum.

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held in 2020 were approved.

Desmond started by presenting a summary of ASPA’s activities over the course of the past two years.

The accounts were presented and approved and the two honorary treasurer positions were filled.

We awarded the customary Book Prizes to the best candidates of taking the four papers of the Patent Agent Qualifying Examination in 2020.

Elections for the new executive committee took place. The positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer were uncontested. Four members put themselves up as candidates for committee members. No election was conducted as the candidates were sufficient to fill the roles required in the committee.

The new executive committee members are as follow:

  • President: Ms. Low Pei Lin (Allen & Gledhill LLP)

  • Vice-President: Mr. Desmond Tan (Davies Collison Cave Asia Pte Ltd)

  • Secretary: Mr. Chang Jian Ming (Rodyk & Davidson LLP)

  • Treasurer: Ms. Pin-Ping Oh (Bird & Bird ATMD LLP)

  • Committee Members

    • Dr. Chong-Yee Khoo (Cantab IP Pte Ltd)

    • Mr. Kian Chiew Seow (Viering, Jentschura & Partner LLP)

    • Ms. Magdalene Ong (Marks & Clerk Singapore LLP)

    • Dr. Natsuho Yamamoto (Spruson & Ferguson (Asia) Pte Ltd)

Thomas Griffiths stood down as Treasurer and Edwin Dai and Chung Min Kwan stood down as committee members.

The meeting approved a proposal for a daily allowance to be made available to any representative of ASPA who attends an event overseas.

We thanked Desmond for his service as President for the past term.

The formal business of the meeting was concluded at around 11:45 am.

Back to ASPA News